CLICK HERE FOR THOUSANDS OF FREE BLOGGER TEMPLATES »

Monday, August 25, 2008

Lights! Camera! Stagnation!

So it appears this blog isn't going to be anywhere near flying altitude anytime soon since we can't even get it off the ground.

To solve it, I'm going to start our very first entry debating Twilight issues. Before Breaking Dawn, it was a bit more opposed, but no big deal. The overused, inevitable question is-Jacob or Edward?

Being a romantic sucker who should have been born at least fifty years ago, I obviously choose Edward. Also, Jacob is a jerk after he transforms in New Moon. Now, I do admit he redeemed himself in Breaking Dawn. Well, more than redeemed, I absolutely loved him after Part Two. But nonetheless, I rather disliked him during New Moon and hated him in Breaking Dawn. He started so sweet and happy, but then he turns bitter and stops caring about anyone except himself. I understand that you can hurt someone badly when you're caught up by emotion, but wouldn't you feel some kind of guilt or regret after? He doesn't seem to care whether or not he hurts Bella so long as he gets what he wants. Yes, I think he does believe he's best for her, but I'm willing to bet it's a little biased.

And he stays so short-sighted! His character gets so exaggerated with the bloodsucker-hating. On and on he immediately assumes the worst, only grudgingly giving Edward points for letting Bella see him and for leaving for her own sake in New Moon. Edward starts as stubborn as Jacob, but eventually gives Jacob a little slack.

Okay there's one reason why I see why Bella and Jacob could work. Her relationship with Edward is very much influenced by and focused on him being a vampire and her a human. Bella and Jacob's interaction outside myth stuff is documented well in New Moon. You actually see them just hang out and do things without the distraction of otherworldly things. Her reference to him as her sunshine makes a lot of sense, so I can see why people could be Team Jacob.

But nonetheless, he is a cocky ass the rest of the time. Even when he "softens" into "her Jacob," I hate him because he just manipulates her with that. If more than half of him is that jerk (and you only know nice Jacob for half a book until Breaking Dawn when it doesn't matter) then there's no way I can root for him.

And, of course, Edward is so awesome! When Stephenie Meyer isn't writing him as emanating vampire-ness, he just rocks. He's smart but not arrogant about it. He's got a wry sense of humor that absolutely matches his crooked, mocking smile. When they're on their way back from Port Angeles, she asks him why he doesn't eat people. Of course, that's awesome, but think about all the other ways he denies what he is. He doesn't act like someone who has gone to several ivy league colleges, travelled around the world, and become a talented musician as well as music connoisseur. All that among being a person who experiences everything faster, louder, more clearly than the human he pretends to be. How do you pretend that? By being amazing, that's how.

2 comments:

Lacy said...

Alisha, I love you. And Edward. =)

(...and Jacob, but only in part 3!)

Anonymous said...

tl;dr