
Unused picture from EW photoshoot.
This isn't really a post. Just a picture.
Here's where I found it
(and where they found it)
Tuesday, September 30, 2008
cool cool I guess
Posted by Anonymous at 5:56 PM 0 comments
Thursday, September 11, 2008
Meeting "Fellow" Twilighters
So yesterday I was with my roommate in the couches (the basic meeting place at my tiny school) hanging out with all her sorority friends. Now, they aren't really typical sororities here since they're all local, but they're not as atypical as my friend would like to believe. They're the Christian sorority and alot of the girls are really sweet-I even considered pledging. Well, I'm glad I didn't-they're a bit too exclusive (despite being a Christian local sorority) for me. But in the couches it was only a few of Hailey's pledge sisters and her big, and we were having the first really good conversation that included me ever.
Amazingly enough it was not about Twilight. Not at first. Then Hailey's big said "Oh! So do any of you know the Twilight books?"
...well of course Hailey knows how I spend my time. And I know she knows how I spend my time. So my reaction was half guilty interest and half sinking heart feeling. Thank goodness a few of the other girls were all "Oh I so read those and I loved them!" before Hailey sortof laughed and said "Yeah Alisha 'dabbles' in Twilight." I'm hoping they missed the sarcasm. It was obvious that everyone knew how silly it is when the comments after that were kind of ridiculing. Not of me, but of the phenomenon itself.
Anyway, after all that died down, Hailey's big finished her story, telling all of us that "the Cullen Foundation" supports Austin College. That made me happy, but I was still a bit preoccupied by the reception of Twilight in our group. It's amazing how so many people can love it, talk together loving it, and still talk down to each other for loving it in the same conversation. It's not that drastic, but it was kind of what went down in the couches.
So Cullens, we support you too! .....just...secretly, that's all.
Posted by Alisha at 9:36 AM 1 comments
Wednesday, September 10, 2008
Meeting Fellow "Twilighters"
So today in my scriptwriting class, we were supposed to divide into groups of two and read the other persons script out-loud and so I was sitting next to this one girl, and you know that whole, we're sitting next to each other so lets be partners look? Well, we exchanged one of those and started reading each others scripts.
Well, back on the first day of that class, we were going around the room, introducing ourselves and saying what our favorite movie is, and so I said Amelie, and that girl said (well I don't really remember what she said first, but then she said) "but as soon as it comes out Twilight will be my favorite" So, of course, I took a mental note of that.
I had been waiting to strike up a conversation and possibly make a new friend with this girl who clearly loved Twilight as much (if not more) than I do.
And so today was the perfect chance! And so we had a good little chat, in which the fact that I like Jacob came up, and she, of course, hated him. It was actually funny, when I mentioned I was a Jacob fan, her face fell a little, and she was like "oh." But our conversation went on friendly-ly (I just made up that word. You'll live. I thought it would fit here) and we talked about all kinds of Twilight things.
Like she was saying how Stephenie Meyer was such an amazing writer, and since I was trying to make a friend, I merely replied "or something," to keep myself from saying something along the lines of, "Well actually she's kind of a terrible writer, but she sure does something right, doesn't she?"
Anyways, Twilight sure can bring people together can't it? I guess that's my point. And that sounded really really lame.
Umm the end!
PS: look at our new blog
Posted by Anonymous at 6:38 PM 0 comments
If you want to read about something other than Twilight.
Alisha and I made another blog. Perhaps you want to check it out?
Posted by Anonymous at 1:12 PM 0 comments
Saturday, September 6, 2008
Why Not Edward. No, that's not a question.
I have to say that Edward's "perfection" gets a little annoying. Everything he does is parent-like. Yes, that's how he has to be with Bella. But he acts like there is no other way to react. Sometimes it seems like there is no other way for him to love her except to protect her. Yes, it's romantic and yes, I gushed over it. But in retrospect? It almost makes their relationship seem empty. A balance with a more normal side of a relationship would be oh so welcome. To me at least. Others might have lost my drift a long time ago. Sorry bout that.
On a side note, why are the "best" love stories the epic ones? Doesn't anyone know what love looks like outside dangerous escapes and forbidden romances? Have people not realized what true love is in a relationship free of intense extraneous emotions? Or worse, is "true love" just a regular relationship marked with adrenaline? Well, I think maybe love is never true or false, and maybe it doesn't have an obvious marker. Maybe all our relationships are just varying degrees of good and bad.
Okay back on topic. So I'm going to try to explain my annoyance at Edward better. Basically, I think their relationship focuses way too much on the clash between her humanness and his vampire-ness. I know it's a big deal, no need to comment on the obviousness. But if she's planning on becoming a vampire like him so that they are equal for once, don't you think it'd be a good idea if they focus on other things in their relationship? Once that obstacle was cleared, or was decided to be cleared, it shouldn't be the draw of their relationship. There should be other...compatibilities, even though the human vs. vampire thing isn't exactly compatible. I know it's hard to make true love relationships seem different from others without professions of true love every other sentence, but there is more to love than that.
I know there are other things, but it would be nice if a book reassured the normal human of true love's existence. Instead, this book just makes me want to find a vampire. But, no, it has to go and be all fictional.
Posted by Alisha at 6:08 PM 1 comments
Something clever
Well it's been awhile. I'm back at school, and have been busy having all kinds of fun. Alisha finally got mad at me because I hadn't posted in so long, so here I am.
So. Edward vs. Jacob.
blahblahblah.
I don't really know what to say about this. Alisha's post is kinda too long so I don't really want to go back to see what she wrote and make some kind of lame argument. Its not like anything I say will get all you Jacob-haters to see the light and be like "Oh, thank you Kelly! Jacob is so amazing, and always has been! Why didn't I see that before!?"
So I just really like him because I don't think he's an asshole like everyone else seems too. He doesn't want Bella to be with Edward 1) because he wants her (which is a perfectly fine reason) and 2) because Edward is a vampire and he is a werewolf (or something). So he hates vampires because he was taught to do so from a very young age. Plus, Edward doesn't like Jacob for awhile too, you know. And sure, he changes his mind, because he's all perfect and everything. Yeah, Jacob does do some kind of dick-ish things. But I forgive him. I dunno, he just wants what he thinks is best for Bella, just like Edward. They just think differently.. because Jacob is 15, and Edward is 105. So of course Edward will do things better.
Now don't get me wrong, I love Edward. But since he isn't real. I'm all for finding myself a good Jacob. And all along I wanted Bella to end up with Edward.
Well so I read Alisha's post again. And she has a lot of good reasons for loving Edward (what an accomplishment, really. It's so difficult to find things about him to love isn't it). And here I have no real reasons as to why I actually love Jacob. I'll try to put them into words (and probably fail miserably).
Okay so. Pretty much everything he does I think is perfectly justified. Excluding that whole, "I'm going to kill myself if you don't kiss me," thing. But even that did serve its purpose, and I don't know how else he could have convinced Bella that she did actually love him, which she needed to know.
Also, it seems like everyone thinks he becomes a dick after he turns into a werewolf, but seriously, he couldn't go see her and tell her what happened. There wasn't anything else he could have done. I mean really. He was being amazing by finding a way to tell her what was going on. Then she figures it out and everythings all awesome again aaaaaaaaaaand:
There's a vampire back at Bella's house!
"Holy Strawberries Batman, we're in a jam!"
Of course Jacob doesn't want her to go, Bella is being crazy. There's a very smart vampire chasing her, it could very easily be a trap. Of course though it isn't, it's wonderful Alice, so thats lucky for Bella. Then blahblahblah Jacobs angry. Beeeeeecauseeeeeeeeee he thought Bella really liked him but she's all, OH GROSS JACOB GO AWAY I WANNA BE WITH ALICE. Okay so it isn't really like that. But that's probably how he feels. She would obvioiusly rather be with Alice, because Jacob doesn't want to be in the same place as her (because he's just a little baby werewolf and he doesn't want to fursplode and hurt her). He's angry and hurt and I don't blame him. Suuuuuuuure when they get back from Italy he acts a little childish trying to get back at Bella by getting her in trouble... but we all make mistakes. He did feel bad.
And I don't really want to go through everything he does in Eclipse and say why I think it's okay and why I still love Jacob after that. Besides the whole "kiss me or I go die" thing, I can't honestly think of anything that needs to be debated. And he's just wonderful in Breaking Dawn. Sure, he gets a little over-angry, but Bella and Edward shouldn't be having sex while she's so breakable and he's so... made of stone.
And lastly: Taylor Lautner is freaking adorable. Sooo go Jacob!!!!
Okay well. This is getting far too long. I'm going to end this now with a few random things.
The difference between me and my roommate (according to her):
"You like pretty boys. I don't like pretty boys. I like handsome men."
And it's true.
Here are some nice pictures:
This picture is adorable and makes me super-happy. Taylor Lautner is especially cute in that picture, and beautiful in this one (and Alisha is wrong for not not agreeing with me.)
And because I have nowhere else to put this:
Listening to: The Mountain Goats radio on Pandora.
woo!
Posted by Anonymous at 12:25 PM 1 comments